Thompson Chamber of Commerce
#202 – 55 Selkirk Dr,
PO Box 363,
Thompson, MB, R8N 1N2

Toll Free 1-888-307-0103
Email commerce@mts.net


group insurance

manitoba chamber of commerce


City of Thompson

get involved



Oswald Sawh, President
Keith MacDonald, Past President
Dave Moore, 2nd Vice President
Raj Tethy, Treasurer
Colleen Smook, Secretary

Volker Beckmann
Erika McCarthy
Jim Beardy
Edward Palmer



Paula Yanko, Office Manager

Oswald Sawh, President

Oswald has lived in Thompson since 1993.

He is the CFO and the Manager of the Fisheries Loan Program for the Communities Economic Development Fund (CEDF), having worked with CEDF since 1998. He has his MBA, CGA, EDO and Commerce Degree.

Oswald currently serves of Vice President of the Thompson Chamber of Commerce for the past 1 ½ years, Chair of the Thompson Humane Society ince 2006 and President of Men are Part of the Solution (MAPS) since 2009. He was also served on the Thompson City Council from 2002 to 2010 – 6 years as a Councilor and 2 years as Deputy Mayor.

Oswald strongly believes in volunteerism and that it is the "backbone of a strong community". Oswald's main focus these days is his young son.

Keith MacDonaldKeith MacDonald, Past President

Keith MacDonald has held the position of Property Manager of City Centre Mall from May 2011. Prior to this, he was the Assistant Director of Operations for both the Burntwood Hotel and the Thompson Inn since October 2008 and General Manager of the Burntwood Hotel since September 2005.

He has amassed 27 years of experience in the Hospitality Industry. He has had the opportunity to work in various aspects of this industry, from Corporate Hotels in Fredericton, NB to Calgary, AB, mountain resorts in Banff, AB and outback retreats for Brewster Adventures in both Banff and Kananaskis Country.

Originally from Moncton, NB, Keith received his first taste of hotel operations with the Keddy franchise of hotels. After a brief career with Public Works Canada (Marine Surveys), he was drawn back to the service end of the hotel industry.

Keith has been actively involved in volunteer work; most recently including Past President of the Thompson Chamber of Commerce, Treasurer of Spirit Way Inc, Board of Directors for the Addictions Foundation of Manitoba, Board of Directors for Thompson Regional Airport Authority and Rotarian.

Dave Moore, Vice President


Keith MacDonaldRaj Thethy, Treasurer




Keith MacDonaldColleen Smook, Secretary


Volker Beckmann, DirectorVolker Beckmann, Director

Volker is an Independent Graphic Designer and Marketing Consultant. Volker received his Bachelor of Fine Arts Honours from the University of Manitoba, and also received several awards including the Premier's Design Award for Excellence. Volker has had work published in World Corporate Identity and Big Book of Logos. Volker was born in Germany, has lived in South Africa and has traveled on four continents. He is a member of the Rotary Club of Thompson, a CSIA Level 2 Ski Instructor and volunteer Ski School Director at Mystery Mt. Winter Park and Volunteer Project Coordinator for Spirit Way Inc.

Paula Yanko, Office Manager

Paula works part time in the Chamber office, which is open Monday to Thursday, 9:00 am to 3:00 pm. She has been the office manager since mid February, 2012.